top of page

Modern Ruin


Frank Carter And The Rattlesnakes - Modern Ruin

This album is a masterstroke , Frank Carter And The Rattlesnakes have been a favourite of mine since I saw them supporting Sum 41. The energy Frank has when he performs blows any other performance out of the water. Having said that, this album is reminiscent of the glow up that ugly kid in your secondary school had. There is an air of maturity musically that the other Frank Carter And The Rattlesnakes music didn't have. Don’t get me wrong, they have been killing it since they formed, but this album has a more harmonious , melodic feel to it that was completely unexpected for me when I heard there was to be a new album. You may be asking why Kegger is reviewing an album from such a well known band. Well, the answer is because it kicks some serious ass and I mean hey, who is to say we ONLY cover under-appreciated bands? We cover anything from local bands to Metallica, if its good its good.

This album to me has the exact perfect ratio of Hardcore vocals and harmonious guitar. This, paired with some pretty remarkable drum fills and - as always - some exceptional song writing, makes the new tracks something wholesome and more fully-formed than the usual stripped back hardcore sound Frank Carter And The Rattlesnakes are known for. Some listeners may be “disappointed” that these new tracks aren't as hard hitting and conventionally hardcore as their previous tracks, but if they didn't progress as musicians the same people would complain that they never make anything different, so fuck them am I right?

My favourite track from the new album is Vampires. I cant put my finger on exactly what it is, but the melody suits the lyrics so well it makes you just want to be at a show and kick some friendly hardcore ass. There is a slightly country feel to the rhythm the interlude has , with the drums and the harmonies. I think this alone just show the band are branching out and that is something I dig big time. I love when a band shows development and this album for me is one of those albums that show you the direction the band is going in from now on. If you haven't yet checked out this album do it , you wont regret it , and if you don't like it first try because it isn't the classic Frank Carter and the Rattlesnakes sound, listen to it again as if it were a completely different band. thank me and Frank Carter later.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page