top of page

Interview with Stevie Creed!

Today at Kegger we have Stevie Creed AKA The Brooklyn Scotsman. He is a very talented rapper from Scotland who has 3 new EP's on the way. He has been a pleasure to work with and you need to check out some of his music because this guy is going to be big sometime in the near future! Check out the interview below!

Tell the readers a bit about yourself.

"My name is: Stevie Creed AKA The Brooklyn Scotsman"

What kind of music do you play?

"I am a Scottish rapper. I write all my own original material and perform with a live band who has many influences such as jazz, blues and funk."

So you have an EP on the way, what kind of things can we expect on it?

"You can expect a more mature sound that is a lot more developed than my previous material. This project is more like a coming of age for my original sound."

Any other new music on the way?

"I have 3 EPs on the way. The first EP is called "In Creed We Trust" All 3 EPs combined will make up the "CREEDILOGY""

What do you think of the Grime scene?

"I think the grime scene is really on fire right now in a good way. When I was younger I was heavily into grime and it was only when I travelled to New York I started to slow down a little and work more on my diction. However I think the complete rapper should be able to do both. Scottish grime is really great right now. I love watching it flourish."

how do you think it compares to rap music in America?

"Rap music in America is a lot more about swag and they do have that in abundance. However when it comes to lyrics, flow and everything else I feel the UK definitely holds its own and maybe even takes the lead."

What musicians inspired you to start making music?

"Local rappers really inspired me to start making music because they showed me it was possible. There was a group called Edinburgh Collective who took me under their wing and for that I will be externally grateful."

Is there any music you listened to as a kid you still listen to now?

"I love Motown music. Always have. Always will. They had everything."

Top 5 albums?

Akala - It's Not A Rumour

Kanye West - My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Jay Z - Reasonable Doubt

50 Cent - Get Rich Or Die Tryin

J Cole - The Warm Up (I know it's a mixtape)

Do you play gigs?

"Yes I play gigs. I have headlined shows in the UK and New York City. I love performing."

What is the favourite track you have made?

"Released: Traffic Life

Unreleased: Galaxy Motel"

Favourite gig you’ve been to?

"Robbie William's at Murrayfield Stadium!"

If you had to describe your music to someone who had never heard you before, how would you describe it?

"Unconventional."

Is there somewhere the readers can listen to you?

"Yes my music is on all platforms just type "Stevie Creed" into Spotify, YouTube, soundcloud etc. "

How did you first start making music? was it a conscious thing or did you just start playing around one day and think “wow this is fun i’m gonna do this more often”?

"I have always written lyrics. Even when I was a little kid I used to write poems. The thing I love about writing music is the fact that I don't need any money or anybody else to do it. It's purely on me and it's truly liberating to be in touch with your inner creativity like that in its purest form."

Thanks for chatting to us today, anything else you want to say to the readers?

"Thank you so much for reading my interview. I have a lot of supporters and I am very thankful for that. I hope my music will get to touch you at some point in the future. Please come out to see me at The Jam House on Friday May 26th in Edinburgh. It's going to be the biggest show of my life! Blessings."


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page