top of page

We Stole Saturday - Interview With The Lads


We Stole Saturday - An Up and Coming Metalcore band from Ireland. Interview with Joey Winning and John Condron.

Tell the readers a little about your band!

We're an aspiring metalcore band from Kildare Ireland, with eyes set on worldwide domination!

What genre would you call your music?

We're a metalcore / post hardcore band that blends influence of Spoken Word, RnB and some older metalcore style riffs while keeping a generous helping of modern metalcore

That’s really cool, a lot of different genres kind of smashed together there! What do you both do in the band?

Joey : I do singy and screamy stuff

John : I do stringy and singy stuff

well i guess that clarifies it. Any music coming out soon?

We'll be releasing a music video for our debut single " An Ending We Didn't Deserve " within the next 2 months!

I’m looking forward to hearing it, it sounds pretty dope. So what bands inspired you to start making music?

John : The first heavy band I ever heard was Slipknot when I was about 12, I loved the aggression and the whole fuck off attitude of it and I knew I wanted to do that. I don't listen to them too much now, but I credit them to getting me into the heavier side of music, I much prefer the hardcore / metalcore spectrum as opposed to heavy metal.

Joey : I started off listening to bands like Linkin Park and Limp Bizkit, and later on found metalcore through bands like Asking Alexandria, and wanted to pursue a career in it.

Pretty much the same with me actually, the amount of bands slipknot has inspired is pretty mad. What are your Top 5 Albums?

John : I really can't come up with an answer for this, as my cycle with albums I enjoy changes every couple of months, so a list I'd give you now would be one I'd regret in a couple months, however I've been jamming Silent Planets' The Night God Slept, Fetch by Melt Banana, Newborn Mind by Napoleon, Kiss Land by The Weeknd and Dear G-D by Being As An Ocean, oh and Emancipation by Prince.

Joey : I'm along the same lines as John as my albums change every once in a while, but now it would be Origin by Dayseeker, I'm Almost Happy Here by Hotel Books, Kingdom Of Giants' Ground Culture, Silent Planets' The Night God Slept and Reckless and Relentless by Asking Alexandria.

If you could take members from any band and form a super group , who would you choose?

Joey : All the members of We Stole Saturday tbh

John : Paul Blart cloned in a super group called ( The Mall Cops )

The Mall Cops sound terrifying , but back to you guys , not the imaginary Paul Blart clone army, What is the favourite song you guys have written?

Joey : An Ending We Didn't Deserve, it incorporates everything we like.

John : Same as Joey, it's a fantastic song and I'm really looking forward to bringing it out, we've been cutting around its edges so much and would always be coming up with new ideas for it and have it down to a fine package now.

When did you guys form?

John : We formed the band properly mid to late 2016 as that's when we started practicing as a full band.

When did you guys meet?

Joey : We became friends through Facebook back in 2015, through talking we realised we had the same career goals and drive within us, we quickly got to forming a band after that.

John : We were tagged in a status on Facebook for being annoying cunts and posting stupid shit all the time, turns out we lived about half an hour away from each other and were equally as mad about music, as we had both dropped out of school to pursue it.

well i don’t think you’re annoying, or cunts for that matter. what would your dream lineup for a gig?

Joey : Us, Dayseeker, Silent Planet, Wether I, and Fire From The Gods

John : Us, Being As An Ocean, Oceans Ate Alaska and Napoleon.

How are you enjoying being in a band?

Joey : I don't enjoy it at all I want to die

John : is suicide an option?

It isn’t an option , at least not until the EP is released. Anyway, Thanks for your time, once the EP drops , fancy a follow up Interview?

Most definitely, we look forward to it and thank you for your time! Peace from the Saturday boyos X


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page