top of page

Interview with Phil Kavanagh

Today we have with us Phil Kavanagh, a brilliant musician who has recently started on his solo acoustic career, a far cry from his old music , it is refreshing to see how music tastes and projects can evolve. Check him out and read the interview below!

Hey, Phil! thanks for agreeing to the interview . So, tell the readers a bit about yourself and what kind of music do you play?

"My Name is Phil Kavanagh and I write record and perform alternative acoustic music."

If you could liken your music to another musician/band who would it be? (For fans of …)

"I would say it is like a cross between Jimmy Eat World and the Foo Fighters."

What things can inspire you to write a new tune?

"90% of the time a song will appear out of nowhere from a riff I have wrote on the guitar. Now and then, I will find inspiration from something I have read about or from a good movie! Sometimes I will have the music already written with no words and then from out of nowhere, a movie or something I have heard in the news will give me ideas for lyrics. Everyday life with my family has also been a big part in some of the songs. I should also add video games to the list here, as the song “War Never Changes” came from many hours spent playing Fallout 4!"

how did you start out as a musician?

"I starting playing guitar at the age of 11. I joined my first band at 17 paying bass for an Indie/Rock band who did covers and original songs.

How do you feel the tracks you have released so far have done?

All the tracks I have uploaded to YouTube and added to facebook have had some good feedback. It was quite nervous at first, as it is completely different to what I have been doing for the last 10 years. "

How do you think the new music compares to some of the music you have made previously?

"I have gone from writing metal tracks with harsh vocals and aggressive lyrics to acoustic songs about family, life and aliens! I’ve still managed to write a song about war though!

What musicians inspired you to start making music?

Dave Grohl, Kurt Cobain, Billie Joe Armstrong, Dimebag Darrell, Phil Anslemo, James Hetfield, Cormac Battle, Les Claypool, Noel Gallagher and Jamey Jasta. "

Is there any music you listened to as a kid you still listen to now?

"I would have to say Kerbdog. A very underrated band from Kilkenny, Ireland. They were the first band that ticked all the boxes for me. It’s nice to see that they are still touring. They had heavy riffs with catchy vocals."

Top 5 albums at the moment?

I would had to go with –

Metallica – Hard Wired to self-destruct

Avenged Sevenfold - The Stage

Noel Gallagher – Chasing Yesterday

Jimmy Eat World – Integrity Blues

Hatebreed – Concrete Confessional

Favourite Gig you’ve played?

"One that really sticks in my mind is when I opened the Meltdown festival at the Barfly in Birmingham in the band “I HATE YOU MORE…” That was the first big show we played and we had only been going for around 2 years. I think it was in 2006. The place was packed and we got to meet Johnny Doom afterwards and he played our songs on his radio show after that. I am hoping to better this with the new project however!"

What is the favourite track you have made?

“Perfect View”. It was the song that made me want to start doing this acoustic project. I came up with the riff whilst playing my acoustic guitar whilst looking after the kids. The intro is only 3 chords but I remember thinking, come on Phil you got to start singing properly and using these guitar riffs."

Favourite gig you’ve been to?

"Kerbdog when I was 14. My Sister and Brother in Law took me to see them and to say I was blown away is the understatement of the century! I even got to meet the band and Ricky Warwick from the Almighty! I remember seeing all these artists I used read about in Kerrang magazine every week! After that I knew I had to play in a band. Definitely a life changing moment."

so you have recently started out this solo project , what can we expect from you? an EP or just singles?

"I’m going to be putting together an album with around 12-14 tracks. I’ve already recorded 12 but I’m going back in the studio the start of April to record 4 more tracks which will have more instruments on them."

If you had to describe your music to someone who had never heard you before, how would you describe it?

"I would say that its similar to Noel Gallaghers acoustic approach but with an alternative edge."

Is there somewhere the readers can listen to you?

"Absolutely. If they go to www.facebook.com/PhilKavMusic there are video tracks on there along with links to my YouTube account. "

How did you first start making music?

"I’ve been writing songs ever since I could string more than two chords together. I would like to think that every band I’ve ever been in I’ve offered something to the song writing process."

Favourite local band at the moment?

"So many to list here, but to single one out I’m going to go for SLAB. Great bunch of guys making some very original and great music."

Any gigs coming up?

"I have a gig on the 7th March at the Tap and Spile and I will be playing the Greenstock Festival in Nuneaton, 5th August. Running up to that festival I’ll be booking as many shows as possible!"

If you had some advice for people just staring up a music career what would it be?

"The main rule I would stick to is first and foremost – enjoy it! I’ve seen so many bands take it too seriously. There’s also a line where bands don’t take it too seriously. It can be a hard slog, so if you enjoy what you’re doing, the rewards will be worthwhile. For gigs, I would say play as many as you can and as many out of town gigs as you can. Treat other bands with respect and work together. I never see other bands as competition. Always record your best music and remember quality not quantity. Most importantly – ENJOY IT!"

Thanks for chatting to us today, anything else you want to say to the readers?

"Thanks for reading, I’ve enjoyed this opportunity. Keep supporting underground music and if you can check out my facebook page and give it a like, that would be great!"


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page